The National Headquarters Of The Episcopal Church

The Episcopal Diocese Of Montana

We are a member of the Anglican Communion. Read the Anglican Communion Covenant.

  The Episcopal Shield

"The Episcopal Church shield and its corresponding Episcopal Church flag were officially adopted by the General Convention of 1940 of the Episcopal Church and are rich in symbolism.  The shield is usually presented in red, white, and blue. The red cross on a white field is an ancient Christian symbol, white representing the purity of Jesus and red representing his sacrifice on the cross and the blood of Christian martyrs.  The red cross is also known as the cross of St. George, patron saint of England, and indicates the Episcopal Church's descent from the Church of England.  The blue field in the upper left is the color traditionally associated with the Blessed Virgin Mary and is symbolic of Jesus' human nature, which he received from his mother.  The X-shaped cross is the cross of St. Andrew, patron saint of Scotland, and recalls the Episcopal Church's indebtedness to the Scottish Episcopal Church for the consecration of its first bishop, Samuel Seabury, as Bishop of Connecticut in 1784.  The St. Andrew's cross is made up of nine smaller cross-crosslets that represent the nine original American dioceses which met in Philadelphia in 1789 to adopt the constitution of the Episcopal Church.  They are: Connecticut (established in 1783), Maryland (1783), Massachusetts (1784), Pennsylvania (1784), New Jersey (1785), New York (1785), South Carolina (1785), Virginia (1785), and Delaware (1786)."


The Episcopal Handbook copyright 2008 Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, New York  10016.  All rights reserved.

Used with written permission from Church Publishing Incorporated.